Home About Us Our Trustees
Game Rangers International
David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation

Our Trustees

Our Board of Trustees has been appointed to govern and guide the Foundation, with their specific backgrounds and expertise utilised to fortify our policies and mission. 

Melanie Shepherd – Chair of Trustees

Melanie is the daughter of the late David Shepherd and became a trustee on 1st December 2012, and was appointed as Chair of Trustees on 23rd September 2014, after serving 24 years as Chief Executive of DSWF.

Rodney Birrell

Rodney was appointed as a trustee on 8th November 2018. He is Chairman of Troubadour Theatres Limited; the Managing Director and President at Bristol Limited, Bermuda, and serves as the Co-Executive of the Wine Investment Fund Limited. Rodney practiced corporate law with an emphasis on mergers and acquisitions, at Appleby Spurling & Kempe, Bermuda, from 1988 to 1993. Here, he acted as Counsel to DHL during their head office relocation from Hong Kong and was subsequently appointed Chairman of the DHL Board of Directors.

Andrew Brown

Andrew was appointed as a trustee on 8th November 2018. For 22 years, he served the major London legal firm, Herbert Smith Freehills, advising on employment law. Inspired by numerous safaris and trips throughout Africa, he turned to the conservation sector in 2016, supporting several NGOs in campaigns for tougher legislation on the ivory trade, both in the UK and internationally.

Christopher Cowdray

Christoper joined DSWF as a Trustee in 2007. Chris was appointed Company President of The Dorchester Collection in June 2023 having been its Chief Executive Officer since 2007 and previously the Managing Director of Claridge’s. He started his hotel career in his native Zimbabwe and has extensive international experience in managing luxury hotels.

Fiona Luck

Fiona was appointed as a trustee in September 2017 and is a director of the Lloyds of London Franchise Board. She has held various senior executive positions within the global insurance and reinsurance business, most recently as Chief of Staff and Senior Advisor to the CEO at XL Group, a NYSE listed company. Fiona is also a chartered accountant, working in Scotland.

Zoë Woods

Zoë was appointed as a trustee on 3rd April 2019. Zoë has spent much of her career working within the voluntary sector, predominantly within fundraising, and has worked for causes including overseas development, ex-services, children’s mobility, and medical research.

Honorary Vice Presidents

Mark Carwardine, David Gower OBE, and Mandy Shepherd.

Trading Company Directors

Mary Nugent and Melanie Shepherd

David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation

A monthly donation of £{{ item.amount }}
{{ item.reason }}

A one-off donation of £{{ item.amount }}
{{ item.reason }}

All donations will help us continue our vital work conservation work to protect endangered species and turn the tide on extinction.

Donate today!

How often do you want to donate?
Choose a monthly amount
Choose a one off amount
We ask for a minimum donation of £{{ minimum_donation_amount }}
Drag Read