Approval given for the creation of two new tiger reserves in India

  • July 18, 2014

New Delhi: The Indian Government today said that in-principle approval has been given for the creation of two new tiger reserves in the country and final approval has been accorded for giving the status to three other protected areas.

Environment minister Prakash Javadekar said that agreement has also been given for the creation of four more elephant reserves, including two in Odisha.

“Concurrence has been accorded for the creation of four more elephant reserves (two in Odisha, one in Meghalaya and one in Chattissgarh).

“In-principle approval has been accorded by the National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA) for the creation of two new tiger reserves at Ratapani (Madhya Pradesh) and Sunabeda (Odisha)”.

“Final approval has been accorded to Kudremukh (Karnataka), Rajaji (Uttarkhand) and Bor (Maharashtra) for declaring as tiger reserve,” he said.

State governments have also been advised to send proposals for declaring Suhelwa (UP), Guru Ghasidas National Park (Chhattissgarh), Mhadei Sanctuary (Goa), Srivilliputhur Grizzled Giant Squirrel/ Megamalai Wildlife Sanctuaries/ Varushanadu Valley (TN) and Dibang Wildlife Sanctuary (Arunachal Pradesh) as tiger reserves.

Presently there are 46 tiger reserves in India spread over 18 states encompassing a total area of 68518.8 sq km while there are 28 elephant reserves.

Out of a total allocation of Rs 32.58 crore (c.£316,500) in 2013-14, Rs 18.43 (c.£179,000) has been disbursed to various states under Project Elephant. Similarly, the entire amount of Rs 172.29 crore (c.£1.6m) allocated for Project Tiger for 2013-14 has been disbursed to states.

The recent steps for protection of the tiger includes implementing a tripartite MoU with tiger states, linked fund flow for effective implementation of tiger conservation initiatives and sending special crack teams to tiger reserves affected by Left Wing Extremism.

Findings from the 2010 census indicated an increase in tiger populations estimates to 1706, lower and upper limits being 1520 and 1909 respectively.

Source: ZeeNews