Help us call for a total ban in the domestic trade of ivory and give elephants the greatest chance of survival.

How?

Copy and paste the email below into a blank message

Address the email to your relevant European minister (list below)

Sign the email with your name

Send the email to the your relevant European minister (email address below)

 

Letter to your Minister – Copy and Paste


Dear Minister, 

I am writing to you today, as our elected Minister with responsibility for ivory trade regulation, to urge you to support the closure of domestic ivory markets around the world, notably within the EU and Japan.

Tens of thousands of African elephants are slaughtered every year for their tusks. This slaughter is fuelled by demand for ivory by consumers in many countries, including Japan, but also shockingly in the EU.

Between 2007 and 2014, one elephant was killed every 15 minutes, every single day. 144,000 elephants were killed across Africa in just seven years. If poaching continues at current rates, elephants will be extinct in the wild within decades.

With the recent closure of China’s ivory market, Japan is now the largest remaining legal market for ivory closely followed by the EU despite the clear links between legal markets and the killing of elephants.

Momentum is growing across the world to close domestic ivory markets and end the ivory trade. France, Luxembourg and the UK have taken significant steps to close their ivory markets, defying the EU and joining the US, China and Hong Kong.

I urge you to listen to the public, including the tens of thousands of EU citizens who in 2017 called on the EU Commission to ban the EU ivory trade, and respectfully ask that you publicly support the closure of domestic ivory markets around the world to give elephants the best possible chance at survival.

Kind regards,

 


List of EU Environmental Ministers and Email Addresses:

Elisabeth Köstinger Austria Elisabeth.koestinger@bmlfuw.gv.at
Marie-Christine Marghem Belgium marie-christine.marghem@marghem.fed.be 
Neno Dimov Bulgaria minister@moew.government.bg
Tomislav Coric Croatia Tomislav.coric@mzoe.hr 
Costas Kadis Cyprus Costas.Kadis@moa.gov.cy
Richard Brabec Czech Republic richard.brabec@msp.cz
Jakob  Ellemann-Jensen Denmark ministeren@mfvm.dk
Rene Kokk Estonia rene.kokk@riigikogu.ee
Kimmo Tiilikainen Finland Kimmo.Tiilikainen@ym.fi
Elisabeth Borne  France elisabeth.borne@ratp.fr
Svenja Schulze Germany Svenja.Schulze@bmu.bund.de
Georgios Stathakis Greece info@khatzidakis.gr
Zsolt V. Németh Hungary miniszter@fm.gov.hu
Richard Bruton Ireland richard.bruton@oireachtas.ie
Sergio Costa Italy segreteria.ministro@minambiente.it
Juris Pūce Latvia juris.puce@varam.gov.lv 
Kęstutis Navickas Lithuania kestutis.navickas@am.lt
Carole Dieschbourg Luxembourg ministere.environnement@mev.etat.lu
Jose Herrera Malta jose.herrera@gov.mt
Carola Schouten Netherlands c.schouten@tweedekamer.nl
Henryk Kowalczyk Poland henryk.kowalczyk@sejm.pl 
João Pedro Matos Fernandes Portugal gabinete.ministro@mamaot.gov.pt
Gratiela Leocadia Gavrilescu Romania srp@mmediu.ro
László Sólymos Slovakia minister@enviro.gov.sk 
Simon Zajc Slovenia gp.mop@gov.si
Teresa Ribera Rodríguez Spain teresa.ribera@congreso.es 
Isabella Lövin Sweden m.registrator@regeringskansliet.se
Michael Gove United Kingdom michael.gove.mp@parliament.uk